Sharon Rasmussen
Sharon, MAC, & Cliveden
Sharon Rasmussen

Sharon Rasmussen

Wow. 40 years. Where has the time gone?

Let's see, after high school, I went to college (Cal Poly Pomona), and graduated with a B.S. in what was then called Business Data Processing. I got a job in Data Processing, and began my working career. I met a fella at work, and we got married. After a few years, he got a job offer he couldn't refuse in Columbus, Ohio, and we moved there (doesn't everyone?). Shortly after that we divorced and he moved to North Carolina. I remained in Ohio for 15 years. I also remained in the field of Data Processing.

I was able to move back to California in 1997, when I got a job to update computer programs to handle the year 2000. I've been in San Jose since that time.

In the year 2001 several incidents occurred in both my personal life and my professional life that led me to pause and reflect on my life as a whole. As part of that reflection, I determined that I would like to change my career to one that will allow me to "give back". So, when I was told my job in Information Technology (IT) (a.k.a. Data Processing) had been eliminated, I decided to go back to school. In early 2005, I earned my Paralegal Certificate.

I've always enjoyed sports and I became quite a good bowler. I also dabbled in softball and volleyball. These days, however, the only "sport" I'm involved with is walking dogs. Animals have been a passion of mine as long as I can remember. I've had dogs since high school, and currently am guardian to 3 dogs.

I love to travel, and have been across the United States by car numerous times, have cruised to the Bahamas and the Caribbean, visited Italy, Denmark, England, Switzerland, Germany. My goal is to someday make it to Egypt.