Covina High School Class of 1968

 

Wally Giambastiani

Hello, I received your letter on the class reunion. This is Wally Giambastiani. I am living in Cohutta, GA (near Chattanooga, TN).

I am married, with two children. Shannon, my oldest, is 21 and attending her 4th year at Georgia Tech. She plans to graduate in 4-1/2 years with a degree in Earth & Atmospheric Science (she wants to be a meteorologist). My youngest daughter, Lauren, is almost 16 and is a sophomore in high school. She is ready to get her license and can't wait to have her independence.

My wife Candy has done a good job of raising our children and now she is back to work in the mortgage business. I have been working in the floor covering adhesive business since 1974 and it has brought me and my family to Dalton, GA, which is the carpet capital of the world because almost every carpet manufacture is here in Dalton. I work for Para-Chem Southern, located in Simpsonville SC. Para-Chem manufactures chemicals for the textile industry and floor covering adhesives for the floor covering industry. My title is Business Manager for OEM business. I sell adhesives to the major carpet and resilient manufacturers in the U.S. I travel quite a bit throughout the U.S supporting my customers.

I attended Mount San Antonio Junior College and took a few classes at Cal Poly Pomona before I began my career in the adhesive business.

My main hobby is golf. I have been playing all my life. I even met my wife on the golf course at Via Verde in San Dimas. We now belong to a club in Dalton and my wife, daughter, and I play quite a bit together. It is a great game to learn integrity and honesty and a LOT of business is conducted on the golf course, which helps me in my business relationships.

Please keep me informed of the reunion as I plan on attending.

Wally Giambastiani


All the Good Stuff! Info Form Update - December 2007

So, whatcha been up to???

Family

Currently Married? Yes How long? 18 years Spouse's Name: Candy
Children's Names & Ages: Shannon (22), Lauren (16)
If married/permanently coupled, how did the two of you connect? We met on the golf course.

Education

Colleges, majors, degrees, graduation dates:
     Mount San Antonio Collge, Cal Poly
What did you like the most about college?
     Independence
What did you like the least?
     Had to re-adjust study habits.

Career/Work/Bringin' in the Moola

What's your job? Director of Sales--OEM accounts
Employer name: Para-Chem
Other fields you've worked in? I have been in this industry for 34 years.
How did you end up in your current field? Hard work--followed work to Dalton, GA—the "Carpet Capital of the World"

Hobbies/Passions/Obsessions/Etc., Etc., Etc.

Tell us a bit about the things you love to do!
We are a golfing family. I have enjoyed watching my daughters grow up to be intelligent, independent adults. My elder daughter will graduate from Georgia Tech this year and my younger daughter is working on a Golf and Academic Scholarship in two years.